25
/
en
AIzaSyAYiBZKx7MnpbEhh9jyipgxe19OcubqV5w
January 31, 2021
 Download
 Export
 Duplicate
 Embed
134 views
0
0

Education in 19th Century Britain

Victorian Britain experienced multiple changes both in childhood and university educations.

This timeline ranges from 1827 to 1943, so you can zoom out and/or go left and right to see included events.

Background picture courtesy of "Spires of Oxford."

Works Cited

“A History of Durham University.” Durham Student, www.durhamstudent.co.uk/resources/university-history/.

Bell, I. A., and J. Le Keuk. Christ’s College. 1838. University of Cambridge. Victorian Web, by John van Wyhe, www.victorianweb.org/art/architecture/cambridge/42.html.

---. The Second Court. St John's College. East Side. 1842. University of Cambridge. Victorian Web, by John van Wyhe, www.victorianweb.org/art/architecture/cambridge/27.html.

Brompton Regis Parish Council. “Lord Sandon’s Act.” Everything About Brompton Regis, 2018, bromptonregis.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/Lord-Sandons-Act.pdf.

Cross, Joseph. Cross’s New Plan of London. 1843, Crouch Rare Books, www.crouchrarebooks.com/maps/view/cross-joseph-crosss-new-plan-of-london1

Daniels, Barbara. “Poverty and Families in the Victorian Era.” Hidden Lives Revealed, www.hiddenlives.org.uk/articles/poverty.html.

Ellett, Paul. “What Is a Red Brick University? List of Red Brick Universities.” Which? University, 12 Dec. 2019, university.which.co.uk/advice/choosing-a-course/what-is-a-red-brick-university-list-of-red-brick-universities.

“Foundation of the College.” King’s College London, www.kcl.ac.uk/aboutkings/history/foundation.

“Gerard Manley Hopkins.” Wikipedia, 13 Nov. 2019, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gerard_Manley_Hopkins.

Great Court, Trinity College, University of Cambridge. University of Cambridge. Victorian Web, by Kimberly Blaker, www.victorianweb.org/art/architecture/cambridge/19.html.

“Historical Overview.” Trinity College Cambridge, www.trin.cam.ac.uk/about/historical-overview/.

“History.” Balliol College: University of Oxford, www.balliol.ox.ac.uk/about-balliol/history.

“History.” Pembroke College Oxford, www.pmb.ox.ac.uk/about/history.

Laing, C. D., and J. Hayward. Pembroke College, Oxford: New Hall. 1849, Welcome Collection, wellcomecollection.org/works/p68ghqt2.

Molescroft Primary. “Victorian Education - Katie D.” YouTube, www.youtube.com/watch?v=hHnqDL7aDFw.

Peek, Francis. “The Progress of Education in England.” The Contemporary Review, 1866-1900, vol. 35, 1879, pp. 862-74. ProQuest, search-proquest-com.ezproxy.uttyler.edu/docview/6661226/fulltextPDF/8EFD29C02B704DADPQ/.

“Pembroke College, Oxford.” Victorian Web, 5 Oct. 2012, www.victorianweb.org/art/architecture/oxford/pembroke/index.html.

“Red Brick University.” Wikipedia, 6 Dec. 2019, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_brick_university.

Ross, David. “St John's College, Cambridge University.” Britain Express, www.britainexpress.com/counties/cambridgeshire/az/cambridge/st-johns-college.htm.

Spires of Oxford. 1909, Victorian Web, by George Landow, www.victorianweb.org/art/architecture/oxford/misc/5.html.

“The 1870 Education Act.” Parliament.uk, www.parliament.uk/about/living-heritage/transformingsociety/livinglearning/school/overview/1870educationact/.

“The History of Christ's College.” Christ’s College: University of Cambridge, www.christs.cam.ac.uk/history-christs-college.

“The University of Cambridge: The Age of Reforms (1800-82).” British History Online, www.british-history.ac.uk/vch/cambs/vol3/pp210-235.

“Victorian Schools Facts for Children.” Victorian Children, victorianchildren.org/victorian-schools/.

Whyte, William. “The Medieval University Monopoly.” History Today, 7 Mar. 2018, www.historytoday.com/miscellanies/medieval-university-monopoly.
Created by  Nicole  ⟶ Updated 11 Dec 2019 ⟶ List of edits
Comments
PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!logo
About & FeedbackTermsPrivacy