June 30, 2022

jun 30, 1852 - New Zealand Becomes Independent


Originally the islands of New Zealand had been a sub-colony of New South Wales in Australia, but in 1840 the British Crowned established these Pacific islands as a colony on their own due there being a large number of settlers there.

As part of this separation, the British also signed a treaty with the united tribes of the Maori people, known as the Treaty of Waitangi. The intention of the document was to establish that the British Crown recognized Maori ownership of their land, forests, and other possessions, as well as giving the Maori the same rights as British citizens. Although certain discrepancies in the treaty caused conflicts over the next century, it largely went a long way in forming a more peaceful relationship between Europeans and indigenous tribes, contrasting with the more violent ways that had come about with the Native Americans and Aboriginal Australians.

Twelve years after this signing, a further step for the independence of New Zealand came in 1852. After a report of the colony was made by a British colonial administrator named John Lambton, the decision was made to give New Zealand the right to self-govern. Thus, after the constitution was enacted and approved in June of 1852, New Zealand was given its own parliament and divided into six provinces.

Added to timeline:

4 months ago
History of Human Civilization
This is a rough history of human migration, advancement, and...


jun 30, 1852
~ 170 years ago


PremiumAbout & FeedbackTermsPrivacy
Selected Technologies LLC
1057 Cochrane Rd Ste 160
Unit #1000, Morgan Hill, CA 95037