May 31, 2020
For educational institutions
Research Project Timeline
⟶ Updated 18 Dec 2017 ⟶
List of edits
1066: Norman Conquest
681: Anglo-Saxon Cathedral of Selsey founded
685: Cædwalla, King of Wessex invades the Kingdom of the South Saxons. Reconfirms the Cathedral lands
1077: Work commences on the Norman Chichester Cathedral within the city walls of Chichester
1114: Fire sweeps through the city damaging the cathedral
1123: Repairs to the Cathedral are completed under Bishop Luffa
1187: Fire rages through the city again, burning for three days. The cathedral is gutted and the scorched stone is visible to the present day
1199: The cathedral is rededicated
1215: Bishop Richard Poore begins work to repair the west towers which were collapsing
1245: Richard De Wych appointed as bishop and begins work on the North and South Chapels
1153: Richard De Wych dies. His body is said to have 'shone with radiance'
1262: Richard canonised by Pope Urban IV
1276: St Richard is translated to his new shrine in the retroquire. The event is attended by King Edward I
1888: The Lady Chapel, its main window includes five main lights. All windows in this chapel were created by Clayton Bell of London.
1977: Arts to the Glory of God (Chagall Window) by Marc Chagall and made in France by Charles Marg of Reims. Depicts Psalm 150.
1960: Reinstallation of the Arundel Screen. This is the first major alteration by Walter Hussey.
2013: Installation of the most recent commissioned artwork; The Aumbry Door located in the Lady Chaple
1961 Noli me Tangere by Graham Sutherland St. John's gospel, ch. 20 versus 14-17 Mary Magdalene Chaple. Cast aluminum candlesticks, bookrest by Robert Potter and George Clark and purbeck stone altar carved by W.J. Haysom of Worth Matravers also created for this space.
1966: The nave pulpit by Robert Potter & Geoffery Clark Cast aluminum, concrete and wood. Designed to complement the Aundrel Screen Replaced Victorian era Pulpit
1973: Addition of the cast aluminum and glass doors Geoffery Clarke. The handle's echo the three crosses seen at Chrit's Cruficition
1982-83: Font created by Joseph Skelton. Made of Cornish polyphant stone and copper. Replaced an 1894 wooden font.
1984: Baptism by Patrick Procktor
1985: Anglo-German Tapestry by Ursual Benker-Schirmer and woven as a collaboration in Germany and England located in St Richard's Shrine. Refurbished in 2003.
1998: Christ in Judgement by Phillip Jackson
1988: Virgin and Child by John Skelton located in the Lady Chapel.
1961: Christ Resurrecting by John Baker Located in the Sailor's Chapel
1966: John Piper Tapestry by John Piper. 6 panelled tapestry set on the Victorian Sherburn screen. Woven by Pinton Freres at Felletine.
1967: Stone altar to accompany Piper Tapestry. Designed by Robert Potter.
1973: Icon to the Divine Light altar frontal by Cecil Collins. Donated by Mr. Richard Cox and the Dean and Chapter in 1972.
2011: Restoration of St Richard's Shrine and installation of it's accompanying cast aluminum metalworks by Jonathan Clarke, son of Geoffery Clarke.
2007-2009: Restoration of the Lady Chapel
1951: Baptism of Christ by Hans Feibusch. Colours were changed in 77 when it was moved to a ligher location.
1877: The South Transept Window includes seven panels or lights. It was designed by Charles Parrish, made by Marachel of Metz France.
1635: The North West Tower collapses
1642: Parliamentary Troops desecrate the cathedral and break the stained glass
1538: Destruction of the Shrine of St Richard
1750: The Lady Chapel is used as a Library and a burial place for the Dukes of Richmond
1861: The Spire falls and there is extensive damage to the cathedral fabric
1872: The Lady Chapel is restored
1478: Bishop Storey dictates the precessional order of pilgrims to prevent further fights breaking out and deaths
c.1535 Lambert Barnard completes the large panel paintings in the Cathedral which were commissioned by Bishop Sherburn
1899: Nort West Tower Restored
1877: The South transcept window inserted
1315: Bishop John Langton rebuilt the south wall of south transept. Creates the seven light window
1459-1477: Arundel screen built in this period
1866: Completion of New Spire
1187-1199: Bishop Seffrid II commissions extensive work to repair and update the cathedral
1955-2005: 50 year program of major for the repair and renewal of the fabric of the Cathedral.
1955-1977 Walter Hussey is Dean of Chichester Cathedral.
1914-1918: The commencement of World War One
1939-1945: The commencement of World War Two
1959-1985: Robert Potter served as Surveyor of the Fabric. Integral in many elements of the modern layer.
1977-1989 Robert Holtby becomes Dean of the cathedral and continues Hussey's tradition of commissioning.
1508-1536: Robert Sherburn becomes bishop and starts a program of improvements in the Cathedral and Chichester
1642-1659: English Civil War followed by the Protectorate of Oliver Cromwell and his son Richard
About & Feedback